Fiction Picks / Selection Romans

  • Mr Wilder and Me

    Jonathan Coe

    **The dazzling new novel from the prize-winning, bestselling author of Middle England**

    'As good as anything he's written - a novel to cherish' Observer
    _______________________________________________________

    In the heady summer of 1977, a naive young woman called Calista sets out from Athens to venture into the wider world. On a Greek island that has been turned into a film set, she finds herself working for the famed Hollywood director Billy Wilder, about whom she knows almost nothing. But the time she spends in this glamorous, unfamiliar new life will change her for good.

    While Calista is thrilled with her new adventure, Wilder himself is living with the realisation that his star may be on the wane. Rebuffed by Hollywood, he has financed his new film with German money, and when Calista follows him to Munich for the shooting of further scenes, she finds herself joining him on a journey of memory into the dark heart of his family history.

    In a novel that is at once a tender coming-of-age story and an intimate portrait of one of cinema's most intriguing figures, Jonathan Coe turns his gaze on the nature of time and fame, of family and the treacherous lure of nostalgia. When the world is catapulting towards change, do you hold on for dear life or decide it's time to let go?
    _______________________________________________________

    'A beautiful, bittersweet novel that is itself crying out for the silver screen treatment' Scotsman

    'Effortlessly pleasurable and deceptively simple' The Times

    'Utterly charming, deeply poignant and ultimately uplifting' Mail on Sunday

    'A charming, bittersweet book, and a perfect reminder of art's value in stark times' Spectator

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • AVAILABLE TO PREORDER NOW From the bestselling and Booker Prize winning author of Never Let me Go and The Remains of the Day, a stunning new novel - his first since winning the Nobel Prize in Literature - that asks, what does it mean to love?

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Shortlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2020
    Longlisted for the Booker Prize 2020 The long-awaited sequel to Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, the stunning conclusion to Hilary Mantel's Man Booker Prize-winning Wolf Hall trilogy. A Guardian Book of the Year * A Times Book of the Year * A Daily Telegraph Book of the Year 'A masterpiece' Guardian 'It is a book not read, but lived' Telegraph 'Her Cromwell novels are, for my money, the greatest English novels of this century' Observer 'If you cannot speak truth at a beheading, when can you speak it?' England, May 1536. Anne Boleyn is dead, decapitated in the space of a heartbeat by a hired French executioner. As her remains are bundled into oblivion, Thomas Cromwell breakfasts with the victors. The blacksmith's son from Putney emerges from the spring's bloodbath to continue his climb to power and wealth, while his formidable master, Henry VIII, settles to short-lived happiness with his third queen, Jane Seymour. Cromwell is a man with only his wits to rely on; he has no great family to back him, no private army. Despite rebellion at home, traitors plotting abroad and the threat of invasion testing Henry's regime to breaking point, Cromwell's robust imagination sees a new country in the mirror of the future. But can a nation, or a person, shed the past like a skin? Do the dead continually unbury themselves? What will you do, the Spanish ambassador asks Cromwell, when the king turns on you, as sooner or later he turns on everyone close to him? With The Mirror and the Light, Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. She traces the final years of Thomas Cromwell, the boy from nowhere who climbs to the heights of power, offering a defining portrait of predator and prey, of a ferocious contest between present and past, between royal will and a common man's vision: of a modern nation making itself through conflict, passion and courage.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • The thrilling novel from the No.1 Internationally bestselling author Ken Follett. An epic, addictive historical masterpiece that begins in 997 CE and is set against the background of the medieval church and one man's ambition to make his abbey a centre of learning.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • A heart-wrenchingly moving first novel set in Glasgow during the Thatcher years, Shuggie Bain tells the story of a boy's doomed attempt to save his proud, alcoholic mother from her addiction.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • THE NUMBER 1 BESTSELLER AND WINNER OF THE BOOKER PRIZE

    'The Testaments is Atwood at her best . . . To read this book is to feel the world turning' Anne Enright

    The Republic of Gilead is beginning to rot from within. At this crucial moment, two girls with radically different experiences of the regime come face to face with the legendary, ruthless Aunt Lydia. But how far will each go for what she believes?

    Now with additional material: book club discussion points and an interview with Margaret Atwood about the real-life events that inspired The Testaments and The Handmaid's Tale.
    _________________________________

    PRAISE FOR THE TESTAMENTS:

    'Everything The Handmaid's Tale fans wanted and more. Prepare to hold your breath throughout, and to cry real tears at the end' Stylist

    'Atwood challenges us constantly and poses the question that lies like a pearl inside the shell of this frighteningly readable novel, "Before you sit in judgement, how would you behave in Gilead?''' Sunday Telegraph

    'She manages to write about the darkest and most terrifying parts of human psychology in a way that is still deeply funny and full of dark strange hope' Naomi Alderman, author of The Power

    'A plump, pacy, witty and tightly plotted page-turner... Atwood is on top form' Observer

    'She is one of the greatest writers of the past century' Sunday Times

    'How did she manage to make darkness feel so effortless? How did she think to inject humour where no humour should exist? Because she's Margaret Atwood, and she can do anything' Ann Patchett, author of The Dutch House

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • A devastating novel - based on true events - of a hellish American reform school, from the Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Underground Railroad.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • A stunning, lyrical novel set in the rolling foothills of the Appalachians in which a young girl discovers stark truths that will haunt her for the rest of her life. A punch-in-the-gut of a novel you won't be able to forget.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Britain has lost the Falklands war, Margaret Thatcher battles Tony Benn for power and Alan Turing achieves a breakthrough in artificial intelligence. Charlie, drifting through life and dodging full-time employment, is in love with Miranda, a bright student who lives with a terrible secret.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Dialogue's super lead for 2020. From the author of the New York Times bestseller The Mothers, a powerful new novel about the parallel lives of estranged twin sisters who choose to live in two very different worlds - one black and one white.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Give the gift of joy and hope with Booker Prize-winning Girl, Woman, Other

    BRITISH BOOK AWARDS AUTHOR & FICTION BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020

    THE SUNDAY TIMES 1# BESTSELLER

    'The most absorbing book I read all year.' Roxane Gay
    ____________________________

    This is Britain as you've never read it.
    This is Britain as it has never been told.

    From Newcastle to Cornwall, from the birth of the twentieth century to the teens of the twenty-first, Girl, Woman, Other follows a cast of twelve characters on their personal journeys through this country and the last hundred years. They're each looking for something - a shared past, an unexpected future, a place to call home, somewhere to fit in, a lover, a missed mother, a lost father, even just a touch of hope . . .
    ____________________________

    '[Bernardine Evaristo] is one of the very best that we have' Nikesh Shukla on Twitter

    'A choral love song to black womanhood in modern Great Britain' Elle

    'Beautifully interwoven stories of identity, race, womanhood, and the realities of modern Britain. The characters are so vivid, the writing is beautiful and it brims with humanity' Nicola Sturgeon on Twitter

    'Bernardine Evaristo can take any story from any time and turn it into something vibrating with life' Ali Smith, author of How to be both

    'Exceptional. You have to order it right now' Stylist

    'Sparkling, inventive' Sunday Times

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • When they both earn places at Trinity College in Dublin, a connection that has grown between them lasts long into the following years. This is an exquisite love story about how a person can change another person's life - a simple yet profound realisation that unfolds beautifully over the course of the novel.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • But even a repressive state cannot obliterate desire - neither Offred's nor that of the two men on which her future hangs.

    Brilliantly conceived and executed, this powerful evocation of twenty-first century America gives full rein to Margaret Atwood's devastating irony, wit and astute perception.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • In Find Me, Aciman shows us Elio's father, Samuel, on a trip from Florence to Rome to visit Elio, now a gifted classical pianist.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • Perfect for fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Celeste Ng, Where the Crawdads Sing is at once an exquisite ode to the natural world, a heartbreaking coming-of-age story, and a surprising tale of possible murder.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • The first book in the landmark Cazalet Chronicles, previously a BBC radio and TV series. With the onset of war, The Light Years reveals a privileged family facing uncertain times.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • The City of Tears

    Kate Mosse

    From the Languedoc to Paris and Amsterdam, Kate Mosse's novel sees the Joubert family caught up in the St Bartholomew's Day Massacre and a frightening sequence of events thereafter . . .

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • FROM THE GLOBALLY BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING 'Bittersweet ... dazzling' Guardian 'Deeply pleasurable ... the ending made me cry' The Times 'Told with a wealth of detail and narrative intensity' Penelope Lively Violet is 38. The First World War took everything from her. Her brother, her fiance - and her future. She is now considered a 'surplus woman'. But Violet is also fiercely independent and determined. Escaping her suffocating mother, she moves to Winchester to start a new life -a change that will require courage, resilience and acts of quiet rebellion. And when whispers of another world war surface, she must live with a secret that could change everything...

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • IN THE FINAL RECKONING, CHOOSE YOUR SIDE CAREFULLY... The No.1 Sunday Times bestseller and the epic conclusion to the globally bestselling historical series.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • The literary phenomenon of the year.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
  • "My name is Karim Amir, and I am an Englishman born and bred, almost..." The hero of Hanif Kureishi's debut novel is dreamy teenager Karim, desperate to escape suburban South London and experience the forbidden fruits which the 1970s seem to offer.

    Ajouter au panier
    En stock
empty